One thing that I do not like about papers is the Annotated Bibliography. If unfamiliar with what an Annotated Bibliography is, it's basically a Works Cited page, but with a brief summary as to what the source discusses. Here is a sample Annotated Bibliography (source):
The main purpose of an Annotated Bibliography is to provide sources to the instructor so that they can verify their reliability and provide others that may be more helpful. I have had teachers more than once provide sources that I had no idea existed. Though they create more work for already stressed-out students, they can eventually lead to a better grade for the actual paper. And any time that we can get a better grade for a paper is a plus. 

Here are some more sources to help with creating an Annotated Bibliography:
https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/614/02/
https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/614/03/
http://guides.library.cornell.edu/annotatedbibliography
http://lib.calpoly.edu/research/guides/bibliography.html

If you still need some help, here is a YouTube video that can give you a step-by-step how-to for an Annotated Bibliography:
Perri Fuerst
10/9/2013 03:17:17 am

I think it is a common hate for students to hate doing annotated bibliographies. I know I do! Being a writing arts dual major with education is no help because all we do is write, for both major. the teachers want to make sure the sites are valid, of course, so explaining everything is vital, though annoying.

Reply
Jessica Smith
10/9/2013 03:20:38 am

Jen, I really liked how you gave some insight to annotated bibliographies and gave some resources where we can find out more about it. I am not very confident with annotated bibliographies. The only time that I ever had to do one was in Comp 2, and I found it very confusing. I don't know if I just didn't understand, or if my teacher did a poor job of explaining the task. I was always so thankful when my teachers only required a works cited page. It was less work for me and I am confident in works cited page. However, I do think that it is important for me to fully understand annotated bibliographies.

Reply
Alexis Kennedy
10/9/2013 11:29:05 am

Jen, I really liked all the useful resources you provided in this blog post. Annotated Bibliography is definitely a pain in the put, personally, but it is very helpful. College students are definitely stressed out and sometimes we feel that professor add more and more work on top of piled up work as it is. This extra work or information that these professors are providing are actually helpful. The extra step in something, like writing, may take you somewhere just like an annotated bibliography helps us out.

Reply
Rachel Burrell
10/11/2013 08:50:35 am

In my Communication Theory class, we were forced to do an annotated bibliography in preparation for a big research paper. Ultimately, it helped me create ideas, which made the paper easier to get through. Also, the biography helped me incorporate the sites better because it was almost like guidelines for what I had to write and when sites were properly supposed to be used. While the bibliography was beneficial, creating it was extremely hard. My professor was not happy with most of the work, and the grades showed it. Your extra information will definitely be helpful the whole class!

Reply
Joei Viviani
12/10/2013 03:28:16 pm

Jen, I need to thank you for this blog because it is helping me to fix my annotated bibliography for this class. Annotated bibliographies I believe are a common hate between many students. Fortunately, I never had to complete one until college. I never had to do one in high school, not even for a research paper. I got to college, looked at this thing and went "what is the point of this?" It was just unnecessary work for me because my actual paper is including what the sources are about and the works cited page at the end list all the sources. I love when my professors only require a works cited page and do not even mention an annotated bibliography.

Reply
Katie R.
12/15/2013 07:00:56 am

Jen,
I agree with Joei, thank you. School's are making it impossible for us to perfect one way to do things because there are so many ways to set up a paper. For instance, MLA, APA, I just can't keep them straight. This blog post really opened my eyes on how resourceful the internet can be sometimes. I am one of the students who gets stuck on a problem and just surrenders and emails my professors. You really know what you are talking about, so kudos to you!

Reply
Jess Leister
12/16/2013 08:37:04 am

I completely agree that Annotated Bibliographies are one of my least favorite things about papers in college. I never had to do them until I entered Rowan. It was something so new to me last year, and I am still having trouble with writing them. It takes practice and experience to write up Annotated Bibliographies correctly, and I do not have either. I think it is great that you blogged about this, because it is something that is never really discussed or described, or even gone over.

Reply



Leave a Reply.